Registration from 09:00


  • Welcome and Introduction Dr Judith Dinsmore

10:00-10:45 Session 1 Chair: Dr Gemma Nickols

  • MRI Guideline Update Dr Samantha Shinde
  • TIVA and Neuro: NAP5, Guidelines, Guessing and Gremlins Prof Anthony Absalom

10:45-11:15 Coffee and Trade

11:15-12:45 Session 2 Chair: Dr Elfyn Thomas

  • Neuromodulation in Pain Management Dr Sarah Love-Jones
  • Towards delivery of precision medicine in the neurocritical care unit Prof Anthony Strong & Dr Sharon Jewell
  • Anticoagulants in the emergency setting Prof Christian von Heymann

12:45-13:15 AGM

12:45-13:45 Lunch and Trade

13:45-15:15 Session 3 Chair: Dr Thea de Beer

  • Traumatic Brain Injury: Prehospital Considerations Prof Mark Wilson
  • Advanced neuroimaging of Traumatic Brain Injury Prof David Sharp
  • The rationale for devastating brain injury pathways Dr Alex Manara

15:15-15:45 Coffee and Trade

15:45-16:45 Session 4 Chair: Dr Roger Lightfoot

  • Neuro-rehabilitation Dr Krystyna Walton
  • Patient experience Mr Rob Camm

16:45-17:15 Session 5 Chair: Dr Roger Lightfoot

  • Consent and Capacity Dr David Bogod

17:15-18:15   President’s Reception

19:00 Society Dinner – MShed


Registration from 08:30

09:00-09:45   Session 6 Chair: Dr John Andrzejowski

  • Xenon for cerebral protection Dr Michael Fries
  • Postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POPS) Dr Andrea Joughin

09:45–10:30 Session 7 Chair: Dr Omar Siddique

  • What’s New in the Neuro Literature? Prof Anthony Absalom
  • National Neurosurgical Audit Mr Nick Phillips

10:30-11:00 Coffee and Trade

11:00-12:15 Session 8 Chair: Dr Craig Carroll

  • NACCSGBI Trainee Representative Dr Omar Siddique
  • Free Paper Session

12:15-13:15 Lunch and Trade (including Linkman Lunch)

13:15-14:45 Session 9 Chair: Dr Judith Dinsmore

  • Acute cerebrovascular triage Dr Maren Ranhoff Hov
  • Anaesthetic management of ischaemic stroke revascularisation: An update Prof Mads Rasmussen
  • National interventional neuroradiology Dr Peter Flynn

14:45-15:15   Coffee and Trade

15:15-15:55   Session 10 Keynote Chair: Dr Judith Dinsmore

  • Risky Business Dr Kevin Fong


  • Travel Award Dr Ilyas Qazi
  • Prize Presentations
  • NACCS ASM 2019

16:15 Close of meeting