Please see below for full details of the 2017 ASM Programme:  

 Thursday 18th May

 Registration from 9.00 am

Session 1                          Chair: John Andrzejowski

10:00 – 10:10

Welcome  John Andrzejowski

10:10 – 10:30

History of SNACC  Andrew Kofke
10:00 – 11.15

Improving outcome:lessons from our colleagues

TIVA and cancer

 Tim Wigmore
Big data & outcome  Rupert Pearse

11.15 – 11.45


Session 2                                 Chair:  Elyfn Thomas

11:45 -12.30 Mini symposium:Neural mechanisms of anaesthetic induced unconsciousness

Katie Warnaby

George Mashour

12.30-13.00 AGM. 

12.30-13.30 Lunch

13:00 – 13:30 Clinical Information Systems in Neuro-ICU

Dr Matthew Cordingly

Sponsored by iMDsoft

Session 3                                 Chair: Justine Elliott
13.30-14.45 Mini symposium:Enhanced recovery pathways

Spinal surgery

Cranial Surgery

Critical Care

Jeff Pasternak

Lashmi Venkatraghaven

Mike Grocott

14.45-15.15 Tea

Session 4                                 Chair: Ian Tweedie
15.15 –16.00 Debate:

A formal Neuroanaesthetic fellowship does it make a difference?



Rafi Avitsian

Mike Nathanson

16.00 – 17.15

Trauma:Optimal care from battlefield to Critical Care

Lessons from the battlefield

Emergency department

Critical Care

Kate Prior

Matt Wiles

Michael Luke James


President’s Reception

Rooftop terrace


 Friday 19th May

Session 5                      Chair: Ian Appleby

09:00 – 10.15

Mini Symposium:Reducing Perioperative Complications

Perioperative Stroke Adrian Gelb
Postoperative Visual loss Rafi Avitsian
Perioperative cognitive disorders & the POPS approach Jugdeep Dhesi


Best practice  Anaesthesia for thrombectomy

Andrew Kofke

10:45 – 11.15


Session 6                          Chair: Matt Wiles


Travel Award

Free Paper Session

12.30-13.30 Lunch

Session 7                    Chair: Roger Lightfoot
13.30-14.45 Controversies in Neurocritical Care

Controversies in brain death

What do we aim for, and how do you get there: a manifesto for rational critical care in TBI in the face of unfavourable RCTs.

Martin Smith


David Menon


14.45-15.15 Tea

Session 8                       Chair: Judith Dinsmore
15.15 –16.00 McDowall lecture

From a Neuroscientist: Perceptions of Consciousness 

Baroness Susan Greenfield        

Prize presentations


16:15 Close of Meeting